ICAR-Agricultural Technology Application Research Institute Zone-1, Ludhiana
ISO 9001:2015

News and Events


ICAR-ATARI Ludhiana bags prestigious National Awards


ICAR-Agricultural Technology Application Research Institute (ICAR-ATARI) at PAU Campus, Ludhaina is coordinating and monitoring the action plan and progress of 69 Krishi Vigyan Kendras (KVKs) in three states of Punjab, Himachal Pradesh and Uttarakhand and two Union Territories of Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh.


 The Inter-disciplinary Team led by Dr. Rajbir Singh, Director, ICAR-ATARI, Ludhiana and Dr. Jaskaran S Mahal, Director (Extension), PAU, Ludhiana received the prestigious Nanaji Deshmukh ICAR Award for Outstanding Interdisciplinary Team Research for the management of Crops Residue in Punjab. This prestigious award carries an amount of five lakhs and a citation.


This multi-disciplinary team executed a well-designed programme to create awareness against paddy residue burning and to promote in-situ management of residue in Punjab through KVKs. Multi-layered innovative and strategic extension methodologies were developed and deployed to achieve the goal of ensuring clean air and healthy environment to the people of northern India.


This team mobilized various stakeholders through awareness camps; demonstration of innovative technologies at strategic locations; capacity development of farmers & machine/ tractor operators and out-scaling the Happy-Seeder technology as major components of this movement. KVKs of Punjab were provided with farm machines to establish Machine Banks for organizing trainings, demonstrations and exhibitions in order to promote in-situ residue management.


Padam Shree Awardee Dr Baldev Singh Dhillon, Vice Chancellor, PAU Ludhiana appreciated the efforts and efficiency of Punjab KVKs for achieving this notable success.


Guidelines and support of ICAR-ATARI Ludhiana for promoting innovative solutions in the Zone-1 also facilitated following farmers and KVKs to receive ICAR National and Zonal Awards:


Under the National Awards category of Farmers, Sardar Narpinder Singh of Chuharchak of Moga, Punjab, received Pandit Deen Dayal Upadhyay Krishi Puruskar Award while Sardar Manmohan Singh Verka of Amritsar-Punjab, received Jag Jivan Ram Innovative Farmer Award.


Under Zonal ICAR Awards category of Farmers, Smt. Yangchen Dolma of Leh-Ladakh received Zonal Jag Jivan Ram Innovative Farmer Award. Sh. Chamkor Singh from Moga and Sh. Karan Singh Thakur of Solan-HP jointly shared Pandit Deen Dayal Upadhyay Antyodaya Zonal Krishi Puruskar.


Under the best Zonal KVK awards category, KVK Amritsar, Punjab and KVK Nyoma, Leh-Ladakh received the best KVK awards.


These awards were given away by the Minister of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare,  Sh. Narender Singh Tomer on the foundation day of ICAR (16 July) in various categories in order to  to recognise and incentivize excellent efforts for ensuring positive change towards sustainability and clean environment.